Writing spaces

The writers’ community, Scribblerati, has been having an ongoing discussion and presentation of writers’ workspaces and how they influence creativity.  Normally I’d have loved the online chat and the postings, as they tie together interior design and writing, two of my favorite things.

But now?  The photos depress me.  I have no space to call mine  in this small apartment – every square inch is ours.  Or my daughter’s.  My husband bemoans the loss of “his” home office – but he has an office to go to.  The office he thought of as “his” was really OURS.

(Odd what you miss most – I never thought it would be my garbage grinder or my washing machine & dryer or my half of the giant peninsula desk….)

My question – and one I’m not bold enough to post to Scribblerati- is what do you do when you have NO space to be creative?  Sure, I can change chairs at my table or move to the sofa or go to a cafe with my laptop if I want to write somewhere I don’t pay bills.  But none of that space is mine.  No place for crayons, the bits and pieces of wrack of childhood along an adult’s shoreline, the postcards and notes that help inspire me.  My two idea boards, small though they were, have been consigned to the trash as the packers put them back to back in the box and they stuck fast to each other.  And retrieving what hung on them seemed pointless amidst the chaos of settling into a new home.

I’ll retrieve more bits and pieces – New York is heaven for the odd ends and ephemera that seem to appear.  But where shall I put them?  In a binder?  In my laptop case?  Mr. Z is right, putting a small desk in the only corner left is not a good option as you could only sit there when no one else is around.

But it has a view out the window, and maybe I could get a transparent blotter to keep my borrowings under…..

2 thoughts on “Writing spaces

  1. Washers and dryers rule! No way I wouldn’t miss mine. I’m betting your up to this space challenge. Have you connected with any writer’s groups in the big apple? It’d be interesting to hear how other NY writers deal with the space issue.

    1. Not just yet. But yes, I’m planning on trying to get hooked up in the fall. For right now, I’ve enough on my plate while NIna’s in camp – and then she’s out of camp and then back again. I love your previous advice about the time being most important and not the space. After all, does the space matter when we read? Usually not, as long as we’re comfortable. I’ m also considering an easel as a portable inspiration board that can be tucked away when not writing.

Leave a Reply

