So it’s not just me…

Kathy Temean’s blog, Writing and Illustrating, is an excellent workhorse blog for writers of all stripes, but especially children’s book writers.

In today’s post, she mentions how another blogger bemoaned how to keep up with everything new in kidlit, plus adult reading.  Who has the time?  Spurred on by this thought, Kathy continues by reviewing The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and her latest kidlit read.

I often have similar feelings.  So much so that I’ve decided to try and spend one day a week working from the children’s room at the main NYPL.  That way I can read, skim, and search out picture books while I work on my own.

On the other hand, I have to point out that reading time exponentially increases as your TV viewing decreases.  I’ve always read quickly and in large quantities; my feelings of being overwhelmed seem to come only during the summer.  Those who watch cable and network series wonder why?  Easy-peasy.

Baseball season.  I watch very little TV routinely, and that little is mostly on my own schedule, thanks be to digital video recording!  But baseball season?  Time to cuddle up with Mr. Z and the dog and watch the Rays….  although if the game is particularly dull, I do start reading – usually a magazine or kidlit I need to catch up on.

But lately, the games have been good.  So what’s a girl to do?  My list of to-reads grows longer each week, thanks to Booklist and the NYT Book Review.  As I add in children’s books, I can understand the feeling of fighting an ever-rising tide.

An endless sea of books, waiting to be read…..

When you read, there’s never a complaint that nothing good is on for the night!

Leave a Reply

