If you don’t play, you can’t win…

That’s my new mantra for 2011.  Putting my tush in my seat has helped me keep writing; taking classes and participating in critique groups has helped me learn, grow, and improve.  But participating in various contests and challenges is helping me win!

Gotham Writers Workshop offers writing classes of all kinds, both in a traditional format here in NYC and online for the rest of the world.  This past holiday season, they also sponsored The Writer’s Wish List Sweepstakes.  Usually when I receive emails about such contests, I figure it’s just a marketing ploy to obtain email addresses.

In this case, though, I was just finishing up Children’s Writing I – which was an excellent class and kept my tush firmly planted in my seat thanks to weekly homework – and I figured what the heck!  I forwarded the message to those folks I thought might be interested too and went about my holiday business.

What a surprise, then, to open my email today and find I’d won a $100 gift certificate towards a Gotham class!  Yay!  Now all I have to do is figure if I can apply it retroactively to Children’s Writing II – for which I’d already signed up…

Here’s hoping I can ride this streak of luck to some more wins as I submit some contest stories this month!  Wish me luck.  (And of course I wish it right back at you!)

 

One thought on “If you don’t play, you can’t win…

Leave a Reply

