Here we go…

I’ve done it.  I signed up for Na NoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month.  While I’m unsure how much I’ll participate in the official community and its attendant hoopla, I am committed to finishing a first draft novel of 50,000 words by November 30th, 2011.

Of course, I have company coming for Thanksgiving.  So, in anticipation, I have done my homework and some advance prep – like any good chef before Turkey Day.  I’ve made notes on characters and characterization.  I’ve bought and read Book in a Month (Victoria Lynn Schmidt, PhD.) and other resources from Writer’s Digest.  I’ve begun work on a story arc.  The only thing I haven’t done is write.

That’s right – no writing.  While I do have a first page in response to a prompt – which is what started me on this project, thanks to Kathy Temean of NJSCBWI – the first rule of NaNoWriMo is that all prose must be fresh and new.  No false starts off the blocks allowed!  I’m not skipping the little I have, but I have consciously chosen not to add to it.  Until tomorrow.

Tomorrow is the first day of the rest of my writing life.  I’ve written picture book manuscripts, poems, articles, stories, book reviews, and even a novella.  But I’ve never written a novel.  That’s about to change.

4 thoughts on “Here we go…

  1. Good luck, Leslie! I didn’t realize (or remember?) you followed Kathy’s blog! (She’s amazing!) Maybe that’s where I got the link to YOUR blog! lol

    Anyway, good like with NaNoWriMo! I’m not doing it…
    Donna

    1. Thanks, Donna Marie! PiBoIdMo was last year and it was great. But I’m heading in a different direction with my writing – and letting my picture books digest for a bit. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

