Bits and bobs – and blowing in the wind

Well, I’m hunkered down and ready for Sandy – the latest “Storm of the Century.”  Despite my tone, after a childhood spent in Florida, I don’t take hurricanes lightly.  While this is a great opportunity to write and read, given that New York has shut down mass transit and schools, it’s also a chance to practice my emergency preparedness skills, hard won after my family spent Hurricane David sleeping on exam tables in a neighbor’s medical arts building, hungering for other families’ hot suppers over camp stoves.  Now I make sure to have water, food, and emergency supplies on hand.  Stay safe and dry!

And while you still have power, check out this incredibly cute and seasonal book trailer from Michael Leviton.  Michael was my teacher at Gotham Writers Workshop, and I am so excited that his picture book, My First Ghost, has finally launched – just in time for Halloween treats.  Michael was a great teacher, and his trailer demonstrates his talents as an author and musician.  Enjoy!

Another goodie that popped up in my email recently was a blog post from Kathy Temean announcing the publication of The Emotion Thesaurus.  Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi have put together an invaluable and entertaining reference work for character expression.  I had to buy it, and I’m glad I did.  While you can find much of the information on their blog, it’s handy to have a reference that doesn’t require a computer and electricity.  Especially in times like these.

Which brings me back to the most important tip about hurricanes.  You can’t fight ’em, so don’t try.  They’re the Floridian’s version of snow days – time off given to us by Mother Nature.  Use it well.  Here’s hoping that Sandy acts like Irene last year – better too much planning for a near miss than not enough for a true disaster!

Leave a Reply

