Serendipity

Sorry, this post is not about the rather touristy cafe with the frozen hot chocolate!  But it is about yet another great opportunity, and one I plan on attending.  Lately, my wonderful and fantastic critique partner, Suzanne, has been busier than ever.  I can’t begrudge her her lack of time; after all, if I had her opportunities for travel, I’d be off in a flash, too.  But I’ve been relying  on my non-local writing buddies to lend me a hand, and there’s a reason why critique groups are usually just that: groups.  When one partner needs to bow out for a time, others can pick up the slack.

Don’t get me wrong: I wouldn’t trade Sue for anyone else.  She’s helpful, imaginative, inspiring, and most of all, fun.  But I would like to add a writer or two to our partnership – and preferably someone local.  The internet is a wonderful thing, but there’s an energy that happens in physical meetings that enriches the experience.  (Not to mention it’s more fun to share tea.)  I’ve been dragging my heels on this, because reaching out  is hard for me, despite the great advice I’ve received from Rob Sanders and others.  Lo and behold, in my email today, courtesy of SCBWI Metro NY:

Is it Possible to Find Your Dream Critique Group?

(Short answer: Yes, but you have to work for it.)

Sunday, March 10th, 4:00 to 6:00 PM

Books of Wonder, 18 West 18th St., New York, NY

Please join your fellow SCBWI Metro NY members for a mixer and informal panel discussion on finding Writer and/or Illustrator Critique Groups.   Space is limited. To attend, please RSVP to scbwi.nymetro@gmail.com  Please write “Critique Group Event” in the subject line and indicate whether you identify as a Writer, Illustrator, or both. If you write, please also include your targeted groups: Picture Books (PB), Middle Grade (MG), or Young Adult (YA).

Sometimes, the universe lends you a hand just when you need it.  And if you’ve any advice on how you found your group or a great story about your group, I’d love to hear it.

One thought on “Serendipity

Leave a Reply

