Another way to check out

The New York Public Library recently announced that all of the Big Six publishers are selling e-books to libraries.  This may not sound momentous to you, but trust me, it is.  Previously, only a couple of publishers sold e-books to libraries, and those sales came with significant restrictions.  Now, Hachette, HarperCollins, Macmillan, Penguin Group, Random House and Simon & Schuster are all permitting libraries to buy e-books – still with some restrictions such as lending to only patron at a time – but finally, libraries will be able to provide books in all their forms, whether print, audio, or electronic.  (NYPL President Tony Marx puts it better than I ever could, so please read his op-ed published in the New York Times.)

Personally, I’m not a fan of e-reading, though I do own a NookColor and have several e-reading apps on my iPhone, but many others are.  Why should e-books be treated any differently than printed books?  Those of you concerned about how such an agreement will affect sales, know that libraries are often the largest purchaser of a book and usually pay higher prices than retail.  (Don’t get me started on the need for library bindings and leased books.  Trust me, you do not want to go there.)  The only downside to this news?  There’s still a lengthy hold list on the most popular items.

Another snippet that came my way relates more to writing than reading.  PureWow is one of those quirky email subscriptions that “elevates the everyday.”  In their words, they’re “a digital publication dedicated to finding ways to make your life more interesting, beautiful and manageable.”  I don’t know about that, but I do know their daily emails – national or specific to one of several major cities – are often a little pick-me-up, even if all I do is smirk and say, “Really?  You’ve got to be kidding me.”  (I obviously have far less disposable income that their usual target reader for New York.  And sometimes it’s a bit GOOPy, i.e., precious, for me.)

But today’s email highlighted a book I just might have to get: Daily Rituals: How Artists Work is about the work habits of 161 artists, writers, and other “Inspiring minds.”  Definitely a necessary time-waster!  How else can I compare my work rituals to those of luminaries ranging from Jane Austen to David Foster Wallace?

I just might have to buy it on my next trip to the bookstore.  After all, I did win a nice gift certificate to 192 Books in my daughter’s school fundraising auction…

 

4 thoughts on “Another way to check out

  1. You know, I’m not an e-reader fan either—far from it. I do see some practical reasons to have it, say for travel, or some periodicals which would save paper. But books are books…I’m a tangible kinda gal.

    Anyway, it’s out of our control as far as how it’s handled. We can only hope it all works out in the end.

    And thanks for the mention of the “Daily Rituals” book. I just ordered it from—you guessed it—THE LIBRARY! 😀

  2. I love the real book too. There’s nothing like cracking open a new book and smelling the pages. Though, libraries seem to have a different smell than book stores do. I have an ereader and do use it from time to time. It’s convenient to throw in my purse, but nothing will ever take the place of a hard cover book.

    1. Funny you should mention the different smells of libraries and bookstores. Used bookstores have a unique scent, too – different from those stores that only deal in new books.

Leave a Reply

