Middle grade madness

Last weekend I had the great pleasure of attending Books of Wonder’s middle grade event. Books of Wonder is a fabulous shop, and periodically they run group readings/signings. After I missed out on the bookapalooza they held during BookExpo America, I was NOT missing out again. The middle grade authors who presented were:

I’m not sure who was more excited, my daughter or me. Wendy potentially stole the show by showing a video of Carl Sagan singing about the universe (!) since it was a quote of his that inspired her to write Pi in the Sky. For me,though, the highlight was listening to Richard Peck – witty, passionate, and eloquent about his own writing and that of others. (And we’ll all be checking the corners for signs of mice after his talk. See The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail.) His statements about his own writing process really resonated with me – especially when he told us that he finishes a draft and then promptly rewrites the first chapter, throwing away the original.

All six authors were generous with their time and attention to the kid readers present, and Chris Grabenstein even gave a special extra clue for a puzzle in his new book, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library. All in all, a grand time, and now I just have to fight for a chance to read the books we bought! Darling daughter claims she gets first crack as she’s the target audience – and it is summer reading time. Guess I’ll just have to wait my turn.

One thought on “Middle grade madness

  1. First, Leslie, I LOVE that your daughter is such a passionate reader! 😀 And a few years back, we had the pleasure of Richard Peck being one of our guest speakers at the Seminary for a NJ SCBWI Conference. He was fantastic!

    Glad you enjoyed it and the fact that your daughter wants to read them first will give you more time to work out fitting in your own reading time 😀

Leave a Reply

