In the weeds

Maybe it’s the gloomy grey sky, or maybe it’s the HUGE pile of never-ending laundry, but I’m in the weeds. Better to blame outside forces for the fact that I can’t seem to settle in and finish this draft. I know what I need – a good meditation session followed by some intense one-on-one time with my notebook and laptop. I just can’t seem to put that ball into play!

Part of me says suck it up and keep that tush in the seat. Another part says to take it outside – even if the weather’s uncooperative, there’s always the library or a coffee shop. (And still another part just wants to know what’s for lunch.)

I’ve received some great feedback, and now I just need to put my rear into gear. I’m thinking a deep breath, some stretches, and that meditation sound like a good idea.

What do you do to fire up your fingers?

8 thoughts on “In the weeds

  1. I have heard from many best selling authors we can’t wait for our muse to arrive to write. Otherwise, we’ll never finish that manuscript. So, I force myself to put words on the page even if they are “I don’t know what to write so I’m writing this.” Until an idea I can run with shows up. As long as the manuscript is in some version of draft form it doesn’t matter what you put down. That’s why we edit. And edit and edit.

    1. You said it! No waiting around. Though some fresh air often helps…

      I also like listing what would NOT happen next – sometimes I surprise myself. šŸ™‚

  2. So glad to hear you’re getting great feedback and, definitely, go for that walk. I work out plot points and characterizations on my walk. First, I clear my mind then I see what flows, then I run with to my tunes so I come home energized and ready to write.

  3. Do be careful outside. Not only does it seem very weedy right now, but also the acorns are plentiful. One tried to implant into my scalp the other day. They are surprisingly sharp.
    Can you trick yourself? “I get to write one page of new material for every 5 I line edit?” I’m very gullible, so this usually works for me šŸ™‚

    1. Hmm, that’s a trick I’ve not tried. The fresh air did help, tho I guess I’ll be sure to watch out for vicious acorns! šŸ˜‰

      I’m pretty gullible too, according to my pals, so I’ll give it a try.

Leave a Reply

