November is a big month

PBMBADGE-AMBASSADOR

For many folks, November has become equivalent with NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month. A huge month-long event, NaNoWriMo is the opportunity for many writers to begin their new novel, revise a first draft, or even just commit to writing something, anything, every day for thirty days to get back on the bandwagon.

This year, I’ve learned of another special event for November – it’s Picture Book Month! This fabulous and fun celebration of all things picture book – not to be confused with PiBoIdMo (Picture Book Idea Month, another great jumpstart for your writing) – seeks to improve international literacy through the many benefits of picture books. Founder Dianne de La Casas, along with Co-Founders Katie Davis, Elizabeth O. Dulemba, Tara Lazar, and Wendy Martin have collaborated to create an amazing initiative.

Each day in November, a new post from a picture book champion explains why picture books are important. The site is chock full of activities and information – even certificates and badges. Check out the website, follow them on your favorite social media site, and enjoy!

(Maybe even hand the lovely PDF teacher’s guide to your favorite teacher?)

5 thoughts on “November is a big month

  1. Leslie, I didn’t realize these are the lovely ladies who founded Picture Book Month 🙂 I think it’s a fantastic idea and am really looking forward to reading the essays 🙂 I’m not participating in NaNo or PiBo. Are you? Are you going to Craft Day again this year?

    1. Me neither to NaNo & PiBoIdMo. I’m in the homestretch on my revision & coping with a very crazy fall – Hanukkah on Thanksgiving anyone? As for Craft Day, likely no but I’m hoping that will change. I’d love to see my NJ friends!

      >

      1. Me, too! Especially since I wasn’t able to make our conference this year, so it’s been a long time.

        I’m happy to hear you’re doing so well on your revision. When you’re in that place already, there’s really no need to push according to someone else’s schedule, especially under that kind of pressure. At least that’s how I think. With the PiBo, I already have a lot of ideas I’m not even addressing because when I start writing, I want to focus on the novels. And the work I need to do before I actually start writing those is a LOT of research, plotting, fleshing out of characters, etc., so NaNo is not for me.

        I hope you can make Craft Day, too. I’d love to see you 🙂 Meanwhile, Happy Revising! 😀

Leave a Reply

