Gift from the universe

November hasn’t even lasted a full week, and already things have been kinda crazy. I won’t bore you with the details, but suffice it to say, my sprint to the finish line of my revision has become a crawl as my life has filled up with competing priorities.

Yesterday evening I attended a restorative yoga class and it was exactly what the doctor would have ordered! Ahhhh… I walked home feeling relaxed and able to sort through the priorities, ready to face a busy week in a busy month.

This morning, I laughed at myself as writing gave way to scheduling appointments, responding to email,  and catching up on volunteer commitments before heading to the library. I had just decided to skip he bus and walk to the library when a Buddhist monk in saffron robes approached me and wished me peace. (Not sure why he chose me from the flock on the sidewalk.) I promptly folded my hands, bowed my head and replied, “Namaste.”

The monk became very excited and repeated “Peace” several times while handing me a prayer card and a bracelet of wooden beads! I wished hime “namaste” once more and thanked him. As I continued up the street, I took a deep breath and thanked the universe for sending me the gift of peace. (Then I promptly called a friend whom I knew would appreciate the experience and shared a laugh about this very New York moment.)

Sometimes, the universe hands you what you need most.

I share the monk’s blessing with you – Peace to my friends and readers!

Leave a Reply

