Love is in the air

For me, writing is definitely a labor of love. I’m hoping that someday it will be a labor for pay, too – but for now and for always, I write because I love it. Even on days like today, when my to-do list consists more of chores (book map for a master class on plot, queries, update submissions spreadsheet), I find myself looking forward to my time at my desk.

It hasn’t always been this way. A few years ago, if the writing became painful or dull, or I had more “chores” than chapters to write, I often found myself making excuses not to write.  My best excuse? “I have to read XYZ, because reading helps make me a better writer.” Lately though, I’ve noticed that my reading has fallen off a little – just a  little, mind you – while my writing has increased. The habit has taken, and I get antsy if life interferes too much with my writing time. I find myself heading out to pick up my daughter just a little later, the dog waiting for his walk just a few more minutes.  Those errands? That housekeeping? They’ll wait another day.

The things we do for love… And what keeps me going is the idea that someday, one day, a child is going to read my book and fall in love with it. Just like I have with so many.

And in the spirit of the day, check out this post on Book Riot about the relationships in Harry Potter. Very amusing and plenty to think about…

Wishing you a day filled with love – especially love of what you do! Open your heart – for others, but also for yourself.

6 thoughts on “Love is in the air

    1. We’ve all been there – & will be again at times. Give yourself a small goal & discover how much you love writing. 🙂

      On Feb 15, 2014, at 10:21 AM, Rear in Gear wrote:

      WordPress.com

  1. The Harry Potter article is funny because today I realized I hadn’t eaten any breakfast when I began to ponder if Ariel the Little Mermaid would develop a crush on Ron Weasley. What?! Give that lady a slice of toast…

Leave a Reply

