Mix and match and May

After a very brief break – that shouldn’t be called spring break, given the weather – I’m back in my seat, working on my submission for NJSCBWI 2014. Are you going? If you could, you should. Always a great conference, this year’s looks chock-full of opportunities to network with agents, editors, and fellow writers, in addition to plenty of interesting and helpful workshops and sessions.

This came across my virtual desk today, and I wish with all my heart I could go. The Highlights Foundation is offering a joint workshop with the Eric Carle Museum this summer on The Power of Picture Books. Sounds fantastic and right up my alley, since it focuses on picture books and literacy. While meant for teachers and education partners, the content appears as if it would be interesting and vital for all folks concerned with childhood literacy, including children’s writers. Maybe I’ll get lucky and some kind soul who attends will blog about the great time they had!

And if neither of those events strikes your fancy, the New York Public Library Children’s Literary Salon has a doozy coming up on Saturday. The Phantom Tollbooth: Beyond Expectations promises to be a treat for kid lit fans, especially those of Norton Juster and Jules Feiffer. This month’s salon is a screening of the titular documentary. Perhaps the weather will cooperate and interested folks can enjoy lunch in Bryant Park before the program…

 

8 thoughts on “Mix and match and May

  1. Leslie, it sounds like you’ve got your work cut out for you! I’m assuming you’re submitting work for a critique at the conference šŸ™‚ Good luck! AND—I’ll see you there šŸ˜€

  2. I will see you at the June conference. Im in complete denial about revisions. šŸ˜¦ I just need to pick a ms and get to work, but I’m procrastinating with new pieces and editing irrelevant ones. My muse is being a real stinker!

    1. Lauri, sometimes you just can’t force it. Try not to feel bad about it though! : / If you don’t have an important deadline, you can also look at the procrastination as a time for simmering your ideas (I used to have a site about that), even if it’s not consciously, and the revision of irrelevant pieces as practicing your craft šŸ™‚

    2. Looking forward to seeing you! Donna’s right- sometimes procrastination really is just digestion. But if it’s not, try setting a timer for ten minutes. You can do anything for ten minutes! šŸ™‚

      >

Leave a Reply

