Jersey girl

Let me preface this by saying I am not a Jersey girl. Heck, I’m not really a New Yorker.

But last weekend I attended my third NJSCBWI conference, and it was fantastic! As always. Leeza Hernandez and the many folks that help organize it do a wonderful job. Kudos, applause, and high fives to them!

Just how good was it? Well, attendees came from as near as Princeton and as far as Florida – even South Africa. Workshops, networking, critiques both professional and peer – NJSCBWI’s conference has it all. Plus a lovely atmosphere of collegiality, support, and talent.

My favorite part? (You mean aside from some very encouraging words from two agents and an editor? ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

That would have to be watching Floyd Cooper, illustrator extraordinaire, create a portrait from a canvas washed with paint and an eraser. Yes, an eraser. He created shapes, form, shading and tones all by ERASING. Now that’s amazing!

I also loved Tracey Baptiste‘sย and Marie Lamba‘s workshop on the author-agent relationship and Julie Hedlund‘s session on crowd funding. ย Not to mention meeting several new friends and reconnecting with old ones! (Meeting online buddies in person is the best. Yes, I’m talking about you, Erika, Jersey Farm Scribe.

So I’m back in my seat, making some changes to this blog, and setting some new goals.

1) Create a better web presence. Looks like now is a good time to join the real world and hop on Twitter. (Advice welcomed.)

2) Polish up my manuscript and send it out to the lovely ladies who requested it. Yay!

3) Get my rear in high gear and get to work on book #2. Plenty of ideas have been well, fermenting? digesting? percolating? – time to get cracking.

 

3 thoughts on “Jersey girl

  1. As far as twitter just get on there. Link your other profiles. It will say “you probably know these people” and you follow them. Then we follow you back.
    Every so often check the feed for something interesting to engage in. It is Not possible to read the whole feed. That would be crazy. It is a river I information and you just jump in when you need a refreshing soak and then you get out. See you there!

  2. Yes, our Jersey conferences are the best! ๐Ÿ˜€ It FLEW by, too! I’m glad I saw you for what? Maybe 5 seconds?! And it sounds like you have a lot to smile about, Leslie ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay!!!!!

    Also, I have to add to your mention of Floyd’s art demonstration. He did this in mid-air, people! Yes, holding the illustration board in his hand and walking about the stage! Fantastic ๐Ÿ˜€

    I agree with Lauri on Twitter. I happen to really love it and am thrilled with the many people I’ve gotten to “meet” largely through the chats. I do my best to never miss them:

    #kidlitchat every Tuesday night at 9pm EST
    #sharpschu typically once a month. Here’s the detailed info on that one:

    http :// mrschureads. blogspot. com/2014/05/the-july-sharpschu-book-club-meeting. html

    There are a couple of other ones, but aren’t directly related to kidlit authors. If we’re not connected yet, Leslie, please be sure to find and follow me so I can follow you back! @writersideup ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

