More summer reading

So, I’m getting my child ready for her first jaunt to sleep-away camp and am filled with pride that first on her packing list – not the camp’s – is a stack of books for downtime. (Like mother, like daughter!)

And since I’ve had enough of sewing in labels for a while, I took a little break of my own to skim Book Riot – especially fun on Facebook.

Lo and behold, Rita Meade has a great response to the the curmudgeons at the New York Post who dissed the NYPL Summer Reading List. I’ll let Rita speak for herself – but after reading the original piece by the Post, I had to get an iced tea to cool off. Thank goodness Rita said it all, so I don’t have to. You might want to check her out on ScrewyDecimal – not only is it fun for librarians, but she has a picture book coming out too!

Perhaps I’ll go back to sewing labels. Or just pick up another book from my own list to relax a little next time.

One thought on “More summer reading

  1. It’s amazing how many people voice opinions about things like this when they obviously only have a handle on a portion of the things taken into consideration. Oh, well!

    Glad to hear your daughter’s such an avid reader 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

