Twelve little girls in two straight lines

MadelineParisFlowerMkt_0

If you’re a fan of the lovely Madeline, you must see the excellent exhibit on Ludwig Bemelmans’ art at the New-York Historical Society Museum & Library. Filled with original drawings and paintings, the exhibit traces Bemelmans’ connection to New York City and his career, focusing on his creation of Madeline. However, one of the most interesting and entertaining pieces on view is his visual memoir of his time spent working at the Ritz Hotel – though other treasures such as murals for the Onassis yacht and fabrics based on his drawings entice the viewer as well. There’s even a map of a walking tour of the city based on Bemelmans’ favorite places.

Another favorite of my childhood were Little Golden Books. So when I spotted this book while window shopping, I had to splurge:

9780307977618

Diane Muldrow is a wonderful editor, and her clever compilation of pictures from the beloved Little Golden Books paired with modest and homely advice warms the heart. (Even those of cynical and jaded New Yorkers.) The art is iconic, as is the binding, and it would make a fun gift – if you can bear to give it away.

No posts next week as I plan to dawdle away every last minute before school begins! See you the second week of September…

5 thoughts on “Twelve little girls in two straight lines

  1. Oh, Leslie, Madeline was an integral part of my childhood. The three books that come to mind when I think back are the Madeline books, anything by Dr. Suess, and for whatever reason, I was attached to Are You My Mother? I already know that with the way things are going, I won’t make it to this exhibit before it closes in October, but LOVE knowing it exists πŸ™‚

    And this “Golden Book” book! I’m sure so many people would be happy to know about that, just as I am, so I’ll help with that effort by tweeting πŸ™‚ How cool is that, and the cover—can’t love that enough!

    Thanks for sharing and enjoy your dawdle-filled week! πŸ˜€

      1. Oh, Leslie, you must! You will LOVE it. It opens up a world you didn’t know existed πŸ™‚ Just email me for details to help you when you decide to plunge!

Leave a Reply

