That time already?

It’s not quite Halloween, but the holiday season is creeping up quickly. (Where did September go?) Due to the impending holiday crush – and also to my need to get cranking on book number 2 – I’m reverting back to posting once each week, most likely on Thursdays.

I’ll try to continue sneaking in my book reviews, both video and plain vanilla, but I need to claw back some of my writing time from this blog, Plus I keep promising to join the rest of the world in the Twitterverse…

I’ll leave you with some links to my favorite trilogies or series. They’ve been rattling around in my head since I finished Bardugo’s Ruin and Rising.

10. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo – The first was the best, but I found myself reading all 3, if only to continue enjoying Bardugo’s creation of a fantasy Mother Russia.

9. Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor – Have to admit it – I didn’t finish this trilogy yet. But the first book was amazing – a wild ride with a precocious art student and a creator of monsters. I’m sure I’ll get around to #3 soon.

8. The Joshua Dread series by Lee Bacon – While this isn’t really one of my personal favorites (though it is fun and very clever) – I can’t keep these books on the shelf in my library. A clever twist on the super-hero story, Bacon has written a witty boy-pleasing series. Good enough for me!

7. The Bogle series by Catherine Jinks – Bogles, Victorian London, and a plucky heroine – how can you go wrong? Jinks’s series is a good way to introduce young fantasy fans to historical fiction.

6. The Fire and Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson – Not just another pretty face, the heroine of Carson’s trilogy has two things going for her that makes this trilogy stand out: she’s a person of color and she’s fat. Also possibly just plain lazy. But nonce Princess Elisa finds her mission, she’s proves she’s also got persistence and smarts.

5. The Young Pilots series by Elizabeth Wein – OK, I’m cheating here. I’ve only read Code Name Verity so far. But that historical novel was so wonderful, I’m definitely going back for Wein’s other books.

4. His Fair Assassin trilogy by Robin LaFevers – Definitely YA, these lovely historical novels by LaFevers combine fantasy, a medieval French setting just before the Renaissance, and not just one, but three heroines.

3.The New-York Circulating Material Repository series by Polly Shulman – If I could work anywhere from a book, I think I would want to work in Shulman’s magical fantastical lending library. Please, ma’am, may we have another?

2.  Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness – One of the most original dystopian trilogies I’ve read, these books stayed with me for a very long time. His stand-alone A Monster Calls is still on my to-read list.

1. The Cecelia and Kate series by Patricia Wrede and Caroline Stevermer – One of my all-time favorites. I’ve read these so often, I really should get hardback copies. Not ready for Regency romances or Jane Austen? Have some magical fun with Wrede and Stevermer’s charming heroines…

And before you complain, I know. I left out the most famous series of all. Harry Potter, Twilight, The Hunger Games, Divergent – you name it, I’ve read it. And in all likelihood, so have you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

