Thank you notes

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. Not because of the delicious feast we cook and eat, nor the long relaxing weekend, nor the chance to spend time with family and friends. I love thanksgiving because it is a national reminder to focus on gratitude, on appreciating what we have, no matter how much or how little, and to express that gratitude to those we love.

I am thankful for SCBWI and its constant support through opportunities and community.

I am thankful for the New York Public Library, without which I would be unable to read to my heart’s content.

I am thankful for my laptop, which allows me to write when and where I like, even if that choice is usually my desk at home. (Long may it live!)

I am thankful for Kathy Temean’s blog, Writing and Illustrating, and its cornucopia of information, colleagues, and opportunities.

I am thankful for the wonderful folks of The Yellow Brick Road, who helped me as I began writing in earnest.

I am thankful for my critique group, who help me become a better writer each time we meet. Brigid, Doug, Julia, Michele, and Yahaira, your support is invaluable, and your advice much appreciated.

I am thankful for Kit Grindstaff and Laurie Calkhoven, whose encouragement, enthusiasm, and criticism spurred me to finish my first novel.

I am thankful for Stacey Wilk, a great inspiration and writing friend, who showed me that achieving your dream is always within your reach when you stretch.

I am thankful for Rob Sanders, another wonderful example of writing success – and one whose books are always a guaranteed good read-aloud.

I am thankful for Susan Banghart, with whom I began this journey and whose friendship is one of the brightest stars in my constellation of friends.

I am thankful for the space and time in which to write and, most of all, I am thankful for my husband and daughter who give me their unconditional love.

One of the ways in which I express my gratitude each year is by donating to various charities. By giving to others, I try to share my joy. While I do contribute to charities for the homeless, the hungry, and the sick, I also share my love of reading and writing by contributing to those who give away books.

Books of Wonder makes it easy to share its treasures with children in need through Santa’s Book Bag. You can order online and “Just leave a note in the comments letting us know which book is for donation!”

First Book does much the same, on a grander scale.

And don’t forget to donate to your local public library! Libraries provide books and much, much more to the children in their communities. (See above – NYPL. πŸ™‚ )

Happy Thanksgiving! May you have much to be thankful for!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Thank you notes

  1. Thank you, Leslie! I am glad that I can inspire you to keep going on this long, writing journey and I am thankful for that SCBWI conference that crossed our paths and made us friends. Happy Thanksgiving. Write On!

  2. I agree, Leslie—Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday because it serves as a reminder (to those who need reminding) to be grateful for all the blessings in life πŸ™‚ I loved reading your list πŸ˜€ And a Happy Thanksgiving to you, too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

