Tidbits to end 2014

It’s hard to believe that 2015 is just around the corner. “Time flies…” is a cliche, but it’s one for a reason. I’ve had a wonderful year – with its ups and downs, like everyone – but it was definitely fun as it flew by.

Before I start making new goals for 2015, I like to review my past goals. Hop onto Twitter? Check. (@leslie_zampetti) Video book reviews? Check. (I tried it, at least.) Submitted my MG fantasy to several agents and an editor or two? Check. (Still waiting & hoping to hear back.)

Not to mention I posted to this blog each week (and sometimes more – 68 posts!) and revamped it a little. I started reviewing some of the many children’s books I read, both MG and YA, and I’ve gained followers from all over the world. (Thank you! Very exciting! 🙂 )

I also finished a set of revisions to my MG fantasy and began working on a new book, a historical novel set in the Moravian settlement of Salem, North Carolina. So, though I’ve not achieved the grand goals of getting an agent or selling my book, I’ve taken plenty of steps on my road to success and am enjoying the journey.

Oh, those tidbits I promised?

The New York Public Library has its list of 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing (Children’s Books of 2014).

And if you’ve time, drop by Patience and Fortitude‘s home to enjoy the first Children’s Literary Salon of 2015, “Where’s the Science Fiction for Kids?”

And for the many folks who ask me where to donate their gently used books – because we all need a little more shelf space – Book Riot has a great article. I may be using one of the options myself for my beloved Oxford Classics paperbacks of Jane Austen, since my favorite present this holiday was Penguin’s beautiful hardcover set of Austen’s works. (My dear darling husband knows me so well. 🙂  )

JAPG6-jane-austen-penguin-other-angle-300x300

And with that, I wish you & yours a healthy, happy, and prosperous New Year.

6 thoughts on “Tidbits to end 2014

  1. Leslie, although you haven’t yet gotten an agent or book contract, I think you accomplished the only goal you can have control over in that respect: you’re working on getting an agent and a book contract 😀 I’d say you’ve done pretty dang good!

    And I can tell you, if I didn’t have to traverse (pay through the nose for) the G.W.Bridge, plus parking, I’d attend EVERY “Salon” :D!

      1. Sadly, no, Leslie 😦 My sensitivities are extreme and I can’t do public transportation. The chemical and fragrance exposures would do me in. I’d probably also end up nauseous from the ride itself : / I do love going in though!

Leave a Reply

