The “R” word

The R word is even worse for writers than the F-word. And no, it’s not REVISION.

It’s REJECTION.

You can look at rejection as a chance to throw yourself a good old-fashioned pity party, or you can see it as an opportunity. Me, I’m kind of a glass half-full kind of girl, and I see it as an opportunity. Which is good, since I just received Rejection #1 of 2015.

But I’m happy about it! (No, I’m not crazy. Or masochistic.) It was a polite rejection, complete with encouraging words about the good stuff in my manuscript and some very useful feedback about the bad. Perhaps I’m taking this so well because I was already working on the bad stuff.

Perhaps not. I’m grateful that the editor took the time to send me a personal note. She could have sent a form rejection, with nothing I can use to improve my work. (And no encouragement to soften the blow.) Or worse: she could have sent nothing.

That’s right, nothing. Many agents and editors, swamped and awash in piles of manuscripts by aspiring writers, do not reply at all, simply giving a deadline by which you should realize that their answer is “no.” Better to look at the bright side when you receive an actual rejection!

I’ve also had some recent help from writing friends Jersey Farm Scribe and Red Said What?. Check out their takes on rejection. Good advice! As for me, I’m taking a deep breath, stretching my sides – yes, those “raise your arms and bend to the side” yoga stretches open you up to new possibilities as well as deep breath – and continuing to revise my manuscript.

On a happier note, join me in congratulating Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi of Writers Helping Writers on reaching the milestone of 100,000 books sold! Their Emotion Thesaurus is a handy friend sitting on my desk, and their other books are great too. Plus, they’re giving us a gift to celebrate – a free ebook ย of Emotion Amplifiers AND a chance to win a print copy of your choice of their books! Who doesn’t love a free gift? ๐Ÿ™‚

15 thoughts on “The “R” word

  1. Aw, thanks so much for the congrats, Leslie! This was such a group effort–it’s the people like you who tell others about our books that allowed us to find so many new readers. Heartfelt thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sorry to hear about the rejection, but every no is one step closer to the yes! When I was submitting Welcome To Kata-Tartaroo I received a rejection letter one year after I sent in the manuscript. Honestly, what was the point? There wasn’t anything useful in that rejection and everyone knows if you haven’t heard back that’s your answer. The editor could’ve saved herself some time and just deleted my submission. I knew she didn’t want it. I’d even forgotten I had sent it.

  3. I’m so sorry to revel in your pain, but you just made me think, “at least my last rejection was in 2014. I have a clean slate for 2015!” Which might just be the positive thought I needed to get back on the horse! But of course, it’s also quite rude of me:) Yeah, sorry about that.
    Don’t think of this last rejection as a push back, but just a point along the map which you had to cross on the journey to getting published. (trying to make up for shameful behavior!)

  4. I hate rejections, but YES, I would MUCH rather receive one than be left in that inconsiderate “limbo” place. It’s SUCH a waste of time, and the faster that rejection comes, the better, so I can move on and not waste even MORE precious time. Personal notes in rejections are treasures and I’m always grateful for any bit of encouragement or insight—whatever the agent or editor is willing to share ๐Ÿ™‚

    And, yes, LOVE Angela and Becca! Everyone should JUMP at the chance to win their books. I have all three, but have yet to have time to put them to proper use *sigh*

Leave a Reply

