Bogged down

I’m in the midst of wrapping up the school year while trying to make a good start on a new novel. My summer goal is to have a complete first draft by the time the new school year starts. But I feel like I’m slogging through pudding three feet high – and I’m not talking butterscotch.

Every day I say I’m going to meet my word goal (500 to start) and yet, every day I go to bed with my thoughts more on weeding and shelf-reading, and just what happened to all the copies of Diary of A Wimpy Kid, anyway? Are the kids eating them?

This is the point at which I really just want to curl up with the books on my to-read shelf. Like Tracey Baptiste’s Jumbies. And Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap. And Kat Yeh’s The Truth about Twinkie Pie.

However, that’s a sign that I need to get it in gear and plop my rear in my desk chair. Avoidance and delay just mean I know the hard work is ahead. The funny thing is I know full well that the sooner I get started, the sooner I’ll be finished. And once you’re in that chair, somehow the writing gets easier.

Before you snort your tea, I did not say EASY. I said EASIER. And anything is easier than nothing. A page full of words becomes a page full of sentences… becomes paragraphs… becomes a chapter. You can’t work on nothing, and the dread of that empty page somehow transforms into desire as your word count grows.

So enough maundering and bemoaning and back to brainstorming and free writing!

Did you know there’s a Twitter pitch contest coming up? #PitMad on June 4th! Thanks @brendadrake. 🙂 Another goal – to create that 140 character pitch that might just land me an agent. Got any good advice or examples? Leave ’em in the comments, please!

5 thoughts on “Bogged down

  1. Sit down and get on it – even if it’s less than 500 words :-). Also, #QueryKombat Twitter contest submission window is open tomorrow from 5:30-6:30p. Check out @Michelle4Laughs page for details. Good luck and see you soon!

Leave a Reply

