Better late than never

Apologies for the late post this week! But, like children with homework, I have a very good reason. BookExpo America.

This was the last year for a time that BEA will be held in NYC, and I spent all of Friday at the show. Nathan Lane proved once again why he’s a star as he emceed the Children’s Author Breakfast – which lacked much in the way of breakfast but had a ton of fun and goodies! Oliver Jeffers is my new author crush. Irish, seriously funny, madly creative, and good-looking to boot. All the library ladies and book bloggers in attendance were sighing. Rainbow Rowell was a hit, channeling a little Sally Field, a little Tina Fey, and a lot of a grown-up Eleanor. Did I mention she had the greatest shoes I’ve seen in a long time? And that my giveaway book just happened to be a new Collector’s Edition of Fangirl? The pink one, no less. The breakfast ended with James Patterson’s announcement of his new imprint, jimmy.

While there were several sessions I would have loved to attend, my focus was on the Exhibit Hall. Let’s face it, there were books to peruse, giveaways and signed copies to get, and enough swag to sink a ship. I skip the swag these days unless it’s really cool. Like this:

IMG_2067

Who doesn’t love a great refrigerator magnet? Especially one that reminds you of a fabulous picture book for read alouds?

As always, many of the hot books were ticketed giveaways or autograph sessions. Lest you think I’m a Greedy Gus, my first priority was to score a little something for the parent volunteer non plus who helps me out at the library (and her adorable kids, too – I know I’m not supposed to have favorites among the students, but her 1st grader is a reserved tow-headed charmer. I love me a man of mystery.). Plus a couple of grown-up galleys for my mom.

IMG_2063

Next on my list were books for my library:

IMG_2065

And books for my daughter:

IMG_2064

And last, but not least, ME. (I’ll be sharing most of these with my girl. But the special Fangirl edition will be living on MY bookshelf, thank you very much. πŸ™‚ Β ) The Candlewick Press catalog is a nod to my realization that several of the latest books my daughter and I have enjoyed are all published by Candlewick! Evil Librarian! Shark Girl! The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness! Plus more! The Candlewick representative and I chatted books for a time, and she turned me on to a few more to add to my to-read and to-share lists.

IMG_2066

I should mention that I was especially excited to meet Katherine Applegate (Crenshaw) and Rita Garcia-Williams (Gone Crazy in Alabama). Lovely ladies both, and so kind – I’m saving their books as a treat for one of these lazy summer days. My Follett order for next fall is getting bigger and bigger, ’cause these copies are MINE.

Finally, I was surprised – and pleased – that I was stopped several times by folks who asked, “Where did you get THAT bag?” The tote in question was not an exhibit hall goodie, it was my newly beloved #WeNeedDiverseBooks tote. Perhaps #WNDB will have a presence in the hall in Chicago?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go soak my feet. Again.

8 thoughts on “Better late than never

  1. I wish I could have gone. That pink edition of Fangirl sounds so awesome. And I can’t wait to read Katherine Applegate’s latest. Already Newberry buzz about it. Great post, Leslie! p.s. Can’t wait to see your super cool new tote bag!

    1. Thanks, Robin! I would have loved to have had a friend with me. πŸ™‚

      I’m alternating totes these days – WNDB, Case of the Missing Carrot Cake & now a Day Crayons Came Home one! πŸ™‚

      >

  2. So lovely to meet you, too, Leslie! Thanks for standing in line for CRENSHAW.

    I love your description of the utterly charming Rainbow Rowell at the BEA breakfast: spot on.

Leave a Reply

