Mercury rising

Whether it’s the unseasonably cool weather or Mercury’s ascendance, I can’t seem to settle down with my new book. I’m working on it all right – just not cranking out as many words as I’d like.

Part of that may be due to my participation in #QueryKombat – see details in my last post – it’s hard to write fresh work when you’re in revision or critique mode. Some of it, though, is just the good old beginning blues.

Erika’s post on Writing and Illustrating caught my eye in a moment of email weakness. All about reading for writing, she examines how reading books ABOUT writing can help us, and why we don’t always read more of them.

I’m guilty of this; my shelf of books on craft is full, and nope, I’ve not read all of them yet. In the spirit of sharing, I’m listing my favorites, in no particular order:

  • Reflections on the Magic of Writing by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Writing Irresistible Kidlit by Mary Kole
  • Second Sight by Cheryl Klein
  • Wild Things! Acts of Mischief in Children’s Literature by Betsy Bird, Julie Danielson, and Peter D. Sieruta
  • Book in a Month by Victoria Lynn Schmidt
  • Rip the Page! Adventures in Creative Writing by Karen Benke
  • Writing the Breakout Novel (and workbook) by Donald Maass
  • Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published and Build a $uccessful Writing Career by Nancy I. Sanders
  • Getting Into Character: Seven Secrets a Novelist Can Learn From Actors by Brandilyn Collins
  • The Scene Book: A Primer for the Fiction Writer by Sandra Scofield
  • The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron

Care to guess which I’ve already read? 🙂

I also find writers’ memoirs interesting and useful – two of my favorites are P.D. James’ Time to Be in Earnest and Talking About Detective Fiction and Elizabeth George’s Write Away, not to mention Annie Dillard’s classic, The Writing Life.

Any recommendations for me to add to my shelf?

6 thoughts on “Mercury rising

  1. I love Story by Robert McKee. May I make a suggestion? Find the book or teacher that resonates with you and stick to that. If you ask ten people how to write a book you’re going to get ten different answers. It can get overwhelming and confusing. And at the heart of it, all teachers are trying to help you write a good book. I have a great handout I received from a conference that compares several different teaching styles. I can make a copy of it for you if you’d like.

Leave a Reply

