Mortal combat

Query Kombat 2015 was brutal! The host even had to call in extra judges, but when the fur, feathers, and blood stopped flying… my worthy opponent had won. (But I’m consoled by the fact that it was only by a vote or two. That and the wonderful feedback from the judges.) Stop by and take a gander at the winners’ entries during the agent round; their entries are well worth a look-see!

So, the silver lining  is that I had more time to prep for NJSCBWI this weekend. (Pitch practice, anyone?) And read more books.

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby was outstanding! Magical realism spiced with just a touch of horror. The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste? Also wonderful – ladies and gentleman, we have a new read-aloud in my library next year. Courage for Beginners by Karen Harrington was a super follow-up to the great Sure Signs of Crazy (not a sequel just another book). Bryan Bliss’s No Parking at the End Times ended a little abruptly for my taste, but it sure made me think. What happens to all those folks when the Rapture didn’t happen?

And I re-read One Crazy Summer, as I lick my chops waiting for Gone Crazy in Alabama. I don’t think I can wait any longer. I might just have to bring that along with me to the conference.

Tonight I need to relax. Get some good energy ready for this weekend and recover from shelf-reading and shifting the entire picture book section. So if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to grab some iced tea and finish up Colleen Gleason’s The Spiritglass Charade. Steampunk and Sherlock Holmes’s niece – what’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

