Vacation!

Just imagine The Bangles’ song playing in your head, okay? πŸ˜‰

Z is for Zampetti will be on hiatus for the next two weeks, while I enjoy a summer vacation of my own and pick up my child from hers. I originally thought I’d just post earlier or later in the week to make up for it, but then this little voice inside my head whispered…

“Let it go.”

No, Elsa is not my conscience. (Neither is Jiminy Cricket.) But I’ve learned to listen to that little voice. I’m not good at letting things go. More like a small dog with a very big bone, I tend to hang onto things. Worry at them. Gnaw on them until they’re manageable. Hide them to chew on later.

This time, though, I’m letting go.

I’ll still be writing – got to work on that draft! – and enjoying the posts from #KidLitSummerSchool and reading. (Ok, you got me. I never stop reading.)

I’ll just be taking a break from blogging and Facebooking and tweeting. Not a social media fast or an Internet cleanse or whatever they’re calling it now. Just a break.

So I can get back to doing all those things plus writing plus reading just in time to head back to school and become Librarian Leslie again! But I’ll be relaxed, refreshed, and ready to go.

I’m lucky enough to be able to vacation, even if it’s in my apartment. So I’m going to enjoy it and remember what summers were like as a kid. No homework, no classes, lots of time spent outdoors or daydreaming or hanging out with friends, and yes, reading.

Always reading. Because what’s better than exploring a new place or becoming a new person in your mind? Nothing. Except doing so while lolling on a blanket in the park or watching a glorious sunset or dabbling your toes in the pool. (I’d say curling up on a fire escape catching the breeze, but my fire escapes are off limits. No A Tree Grows in BrooklynΒ for me.)

See you in two weeks! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Vacation!

  1. Summer is meant for lazy days. For rocking on the front porch as the sun droops in the sky. For laughter, memories, and of course, good books. Enjoy blissful time.

Leave a Reply

