One crazy summer

And it’s not over yet! Not till after Labor Day.

As always I’ve been reading like a fiend, and I thought I’d share with you some of my summer reading. The list is in order by when I read them, June – August. A lack of comments does NOT imply I did not enjoy the book. And it’s not a complete list. There’s always some grown-up books I’m reading. 🙂

  1. Harry Potter – re-read all seven books.
  2. The Winner’s Curse
  3. Nothing But Blue 
  4. Stoker & Holmes numbers 2 & 3
  5. Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Smoke and Bone #3)
  6. I Capture the Castle  – Written before YA was YA, enchanting
  7. House of Ivy & Sorrow
  8. Steering Toward Normal Rebecca Petruck kindly provided the writing prompts for #KidLitSummer School & boy, can she write!
  9. Look Into My Eyes (Ruby Redfort #1)
  10. Heroes of Olympus series  – Would you believe my husband started reading them on vacation & couldn’t put ’em down? I had to see what enthralls boys of all ages.
  11. The Edge of Nowhere (Whidbey Island #1) – Love her Inspector Lynley mysteries, had to see if she could write YA
  12. The Gaither Sisters trilogy  –re-read One Crazy Summer and P.S. Be Eleven; read Gone Crazy in Alabama, oh my!
  13. Ember in the Ashes – hot and hyped and a really good fantasy
  14. One Thing Stolen

Still on my nightstand?

  1. Rain Reign
  2. Girls Like Us
  3. George’s Whidbey Island series #2 and #3
  4. Crenshaw -It’s my end of summer treat. Maybe I’ll save it for read-aloud and discover it along with my students?
  5. Fangirl – OK, I’m still working on my haul from BEA 2015.
  6. Ruby Redfort #2 and #3 – These are FUN. I plan on handing them to kids looking for a modern Nancy Drew.
  7. Ava and Taco Cat
  8. The Name of the Blade – Licking my lips for this one. YA fantasy & Japanese mythology. Bring it on.
  9. Wild Boy – Another contender for the read it with my kids pile. 🙂
  10. Cartwheeling in Thunderstorms

And one of the days I HAVE to read my child’s latest all-time favorite book, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. Sorry, hon. I know you want it to be “your” book, but if it’s THAT good…

4 thoughts on “One crazy summer

Leave a Reply

