A little something

Just a little something while the laundry spins in the dryer…

Wind whips the fallen leaves into a tiny tornado.

Will o’ the wisp or dust devil?

Whirlwind or ghost wind?

I walk on, the ends of my scarf fluttering wildly

Like the wings of a bird, desperate for escape.

I shiver, thinking of hot tea, soup bubbling in the pot,

And the warm blanket waiting for me on the sofa.

My shoes crunch through the leaves now scattered on the sidewalk

As the wind rushes off to play elsewhere.

8 thoughts on “A little something

      1. That’s so sweet! Woo hoo! (I’m pretty sure I just saw Wilcox & Griswold do happy dance. šŸ˜€šŸ°) The Case of the Poached Egg releases spring 2017 and am currently working on book 3.

Leave a Reply

