Summer reading

It’s that time again – time to think about summer reading lists. I’m not quite ready to post my own, since I decided to do a little pruning of my Goodreads to-read list. Maybe I’ll bite the bullet and get that done this weekend! Why prune my to-read list? Well, Book Riot had some reasons back in March. I could get through my entire to-read list in a year or so, if I *really* wanted to.

But it’s like laundry: you’re never really finished. May as well slough off the books I can’t find at the library, those I can’t remember why they were appealing, and – to be brutally honest – those I felt like I *had* to read.

Never fear, though – SCBWI has come to our rescue by creating an official SCBWI Summer Reading List! Organized by regional chapter, including grade level information AND category (humorous fiction, for example), this is a treasure trove of members’ books. How cool is that?

And if you just can’t get enough, the New York Public Library has a whole site devoted to their summer reading programs, including lists by age level – even a list just for adults. 🙂

Summer reading helps students of all ages beat the summertime slump in reading skills, and you know the best way to get your kids reading? Read yourself. 😉

Happy reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

