Myth busting

A few years ago, I was privileged to be able to attend the Highlights foundations Children’s Writers Workshop in Chautauqua. They’re still helping children’s writers hone their craft, but now the workshops are available year-round in Honesdale, PA at the Highlights Foundation campus.

Courtesy of those lovely folks, here’s a few myths that need busting and a quick blurb for their newbies’ workshop. Not a newbie? You can find something more advanced here.

And if I had a dollar for every time I’ve personally busted myths #1, #4, and #5 in conversations… well, I wouldn’t need a day job! 😉

Highlights Foundation, Intimate & inspiring workshops for children's authors and illustrators
Top 10 Myths About Writing Children’s Books

Children's books written on pebbles

Myth #1
Children’s books are easy to write.

Myth #2
If I write a picture book, I have to illustrate it too (or hire an illustrator.)

Myth #3
Children’s books have to rhyme.

Myth #4
Since my kids/grandkids/class love my stories, they would make a great book.

Myth #5
It’s really important to follow trends, and write about things like vampires and dystopias if you write for teens.

Myth #6
Boys will only read “boy books” and girls will only read “girl books.”

Myth #7
As soon as I sell my book, I can quit my day job.

Myth #8
After my book is published, I’ll be sent on a book tour and be a guest on Ellen.

Myth #9
Picture book characters should be talking animals, not children.

Myth #10
I’ll never get published unless I have an agent.

If this list surprises you, you might benefit from our beginner’s workshop, Everything You Need to Know About Children’s Book Publishing: A Crash Course, November 10-13. We’ll give you an overview of the children’s book industry, give you some writing exercises and share best practices for getting started on your career!

Workshop attendees

Did you know?
Our workshop costs are all-inclusive. Except for your travel costs, we take care of everything! You’ll get free transportation from the airport, lodging, meals, round-the-clock snacks and free wireless internet.

We would appreciate it if you would pass on this email to a friend.

If your would like to sign up for news and updates from the Highlights Foundation click here.


Highlights Foundation, Inc.
814 Court Street
Honesdale, PA 18431
Phone: (877) 288-3410
E-mail: contact@highlightsfoundation.org
www.highlightsfoundation.org
Like us on Facebook:
http://tinyurl.com/4ke79pd
Follow us on twitter @HighlightsFound

We do not wish to send you information you do not want. If you do not want to hear from us via e-mail in the future, please click here.

This promotional message was sent to leslie@zampettis.com by Highlights Foundation, Inc.

Leave a Reply

