What I read this summer

As I wrote way back in June, I’m not headed back to school this year. While I miss seeing my students and setting up displays of new books to share, I don’t miss being on the school schedule. (7:30 AM bus, anyone?)

It was a luxurious summer of settling into my new job and starting to shovel out the slush pile. Which was not only educational, but enjoyable. (Yes, I’m *that* crazy about reading.)

What else did I read? I caught up on some grown-up reading, enjoyed several new mysteries, and of course, treated myself to some kid lit.

  • The Porcupine Year by Louise Erdrich
  • Girl Parts by John Cusick
  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • First and Then by Emma Mills  – Emma’s newest is almost out ! Watch for This Adventure Ends!
  • Falling into Place by Amy Zhang
  • Damage Done by Amanda Panitch
  • Forget-Me-Not Summer by Leila Howland
  • The Perfect Place by Teresa E. Harris

Kate DiCamillo’s Raymie Nightingale is waiting on my bedside table for the perfect moment, and Betsy Bird’s Wild Things! has moved from the bookshelf to my bedside, too.

I’m thinking I need to read all of Erdrich’s Birchbark stories and dive into the pile of Candlewick advance copies I was so generously given. I meant to read so much more this summer, but much of my time was spent writing my second novel, which is finished and awaiting critique at Kathy Temean’s Avalon retreat.

Too many books, too little time. I never did get around to pruning my Goodreads to-read list. But that’s a good problem to have.

What did you love reading this summer?

9 thoughts on “What I read this summer

  1. I have been doing a lot of reading of late. Reading is a huge stress reliever and constant companion. Here are some the books I read over the summer:
    The Stepmother by Claire Seeber
    Abduction by Gillian Jackson
    The Girl on The Train
    Tidewater, Colleen Cobbie
    Beautiful Storm, Barbara Freethy
    The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, Gabrielle Zevin
    A book by Catherine Bybee I can’t think of the name of (oops)
    Everything We Keep, Kerry Lonsdale
    The Winter Lodge, Susan Wiggs
    Maggie’s Turn, Deanna Lynn Sletten
    When I’m Gone, Emily Bleeker
    Sparrow Migrations, Cari Noga

    I need to get a life. LOL!

  2. Sounds like a great summer and some welcome transitions! You will fall in love with Raymie, I assure you. I’ve enjoyed that my oldest daughter (11 years old!) is now reading more adventure and fantasy – and so we can share a love for all things creepy and wild. We’ve been reading the Miss Peregrine’s books together and also Tracey Baptiste’s The Jumbies.

Leave a Reply

