Some photos – and some stories

Inspiration is a funny thing. Whether you find it in the newspaper, your day job, or just on a long walk around your neighborhood, you need to catch it when it strikes. But you also need to encourage it.

Nobody ever wrote a book by sitting around and waiting for inspiration.

I’m a big fan of snapping photos with my phone of odd or quirky things around the city as I walk around. They might not inspire a story, but they get me imagining.

What’s up with the lost unicorn?

img_0300

Who built the little house that reminds of the New York Botanical Gardens holiday train show?

img_2513

How long has that balloon been stuck in the tree?

img_0738

Recently a friend posted a link on Facebook that told the story of a man who took a Polaroid photo each day for many years. Sadly, he died young, but his friends created a website to display his photos and keep his memory alive.

That site is Jamie Livingston: some photos of that day.

I love it.

You can look at the photos chronologically, search by a specific date, read other people’s stories about the photos and what they meant to them. Not only is this a wonderful tribute to Livingston’s art, but it’s a great source of inspiration.

And yes, I know about Pinterest and Instagram. I just can’t seem to get on board with yet another technological rabbit hole. I think I’ll keep my mini magnetic board and my collections of postcards, bookmarks, etc.

And now a photo of that day. Of elephants.

Leave a Reply

