Winner and whoops

 

img_0009

Yep, I did it. 30 ideas in 30 days. 30 NOVEL ideas in 30 days, mind you. Will any of them turn into books? I don’t know. But at least I’ve fired up my imagination and learned sometimes a little whirlwind is good for the creative brain.

Now if I could just get this revision done! I keep wrestling with it. Keep going round and round.

Am I starting in the right place?

Am I addressing the issues pointed out by my critiquers and beta readers?

Am I just spinning my wheels?

It might just be time for a new process. Not just an outline. Not just a daily word count. The other day at work, I saw a work-in-progress from a client. It was amazing!

Several pages of character analysis, followed by a meandering sort-of-synopsis, followed by three vignettes. Will they all make it in the book? I don’t know. I doubt it.

But what I do know is that that author has a great start and she obviously knows where she’s going. With room for surprises.

That’s what I want. Not a Google maps, Siri telling me to take this turn here, “you will reach your destination in one half mile” process.

More like the Triptiks AAA used to give out. There was a highlighted road map that showed you exactly how to get to your destination, but there were also notes of rest stops, points of interest, and places to eat or stay along the way. Plus you could ignore those (and the highlighted way) completely and just use the map as a way to explore, often finding new cafes or sights that had popped up since the map was created.

I need me a Triptik for my book. It’s all in my head, and it just needs to reach the page.

Oh, and that whoops? Well, I’ve learned that rushing for the bus and the broken up pavement of NYC streets don’t mix. So I’m a little less mobile  and a lot more careful while my sprained right ankle and banged-up left knee heal.

So I’m just going to take my time, let January’s 30 ideas mellow a little, and focus on letting the book in my head out onto the page. Word count be damned!

Creativity, like water, will always find its way.

 

2 thoughts on “Winner and whoops

Leave a Reply

