Harsh?

Are you harsh on yourself? Harsher than on your critique partners, hmm?

I’m getting into the groove of a new novel, and this article from The New York Times couldn’t have come at a better time. 🙂

Setting yourself free of your worst critic – YOU – is a great idea. Especially in that tender time when you’re settling into a first draft. And while my writing partners are so helpful and much more supportive than critical, I’m keeping this one to myself for a while longer.

Maybe even till it’s done.

Fewer false starts? Probably not in the long run.

A quicker sprint to the end? I sure hope so.

Getting words on that page every time I plop my bottom in my chair? Oh yeah!

We’re our worst enemies when it comes to writing. As Sketch Guy Carl Richards recommends, set yourself free.

See what happens.

 

4 thoughts on “Harsh?

  1. I never let me critique partners see my first draft. I have to get far enough into a novel where I’ve had a chance to get to know my characters (about half way) then I can go back to the beginning and clean it up enough for other’s eyes. I want their feedback to make sure I’m on the right track. Writing is a multi-step task.

Leave a Reply

